logo
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar New Posts Search

Go Back   Forums > Trading systems, newsletters and coaching

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2017,
bonniet94Grind bonniet94Grind is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 0
Default

I guess it just depends which broker I use. I have sogotrade. I guess I will email them but I am wondering, if I am long/short a stock and I have a stop loss on it (either limit or market) and if it goes against me in the after hours or premarket, I am just screwed and my stop loss will be negated?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2017,
BrosMn BrosMn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 0
Default

Stops do not work during off hours. Because the Bid/ask widens out too much and would cause triggers all the time. Another reason I never use them.
However it can be triggered as soon as the market opens and if it is a market order it will hit the first available price (which can REALLY screw you)...if it is a limit it will put in an order at the price and sit until cancelled or filled.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2017,
Boriselact Boriselact is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 0
Default gap in after/premarket, a limit/market order gets filled?

thanks for your reply, I was thinking no one would help me.

well that sucks. Yeah a market order could screw me bad but a tank (or spike if i'm short) in after/pre on a limit stop might not hit the bid and I'd be screwed either way. I guess I would need a broker that offers pre/after market. I really don't understand why it's so like abnormal for brokers to offer trades in after/pre, so much can go on. Not everyone is day trading, some want to swing/hold, and after/premarket moves can destroy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2017,
BrodieSpri BrodieSpri is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 0
Default

I have sogotrade. I don't think they have after or pre market for the basic almost-free platform which has no live charting or level 2 or indicators etc - I think I might try and find a free or cheap version of that without order executions, just live charting and 1-5 min candles, if available, and have two windows open. I will email sogotrade, haven't gotten around to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2017,
BridgetteW BridgetteW is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 0
Default

Just go to Dough.com and find the link to TDA and create a free TDA account. You don't have to have any money in it and you can use Thinkorswim for all your charts, level 2 and news or whatever. But be sure to sign up through Dough.com so your fees will automatically be reduced in case you ever decide to use them with real money.
But ye , I wouldn't waste my time with a broker that didn't trade off-hours and have free technology and live level 2 and news...... TDA fees after reduction are 7.50 per stock trade and 1.50 per option contract w/ no ticket fee. And free access to Thinkorswim...I don't mind a bit spending an extra dollar or two for all that I get.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is .